A Reality Tour album coverRecorded: 22, 23 November 2003
Producer: Jerry Rappaport

Released: 25 January 2010

David Bowie: vocals, guitar, Stylophone, harmonica
Earl Slick: guitar
Gerry Leonard: guitar, vocals
Gail Ann Dorsey: bass guitar, vocals
Mike Garson: piano, keyboards
Catherine Russell: guitar, keyboards, mandolin, percussion, vocals
Sterling Campbell: drums, vocals

A Reality Tour was David Bowie’s world tour in support of his Reality Tour, which visited Europe, North America, Asia, New Zealand and Australia in 2003 and 2004. His concerts at the Point Depot in Dublin on 22 and 23 November 2003 were filmed and recorded, and released on DVD in 2004 and on CD, vinyl and digital download in 2010.

The audio version contains several key differences from the film. Bowie’s cover version of Pixies’ ‘Cactus’ is longer in the audio edition, and more of his between-song banter is retained.

Moreover, a number of bonus tracks were included on the audio releases. The CD and vinyl versions added three songs to the end of the set, and the digital download – which went on sale two weeks after the physical edition – added two extra songs.

Bowie’s concert set list spanned his repertoire from 1970’s The Man Who Sold The World to the new millennium, with particular weight given to his newer releases Heathen and Reality. There were also outings for ‘Sister Midnight’ and ‘Under Pressure’, Bowie’s collaborations with Iggy Pop and Queen respectively.

A Reality Tour was released on 25 January 2010. It was not a great seller – its highest chart placing was in Belgium, where it peaked at number 18 on the Wallonia albums chart. It also reached the top 40 in Austria, Ireland, Portugal and Switzerland. In the UK it got to number 53, but in the US it peaked at 191 on the Billboard chart.

Published: |