David Bowie – Nothing Has Changed (3xCD edition)Recorded: 1964-2014
Producers: David Bowie, Tony Visconti, James Murphy, Brian Rawling, Gary Miller, Mark Plati, Reeves Gabrels, Marius de Vries, Nine Inch Nails, Brian Eno, Pet Shop Boys, David Richards, Nile Rodgers, Alan Winstanley, Clive Langer, Derek Bramble, Hugh Padgham, Pat Metheny, Queen, Harry Maslin, Ken Scott, Gus Dudgeon, Mike Vernon, Tony Hatch, Shel Talmy

Released: 18 November 2014

Tracklisting (3CD edition):

‘The Buddha Of Suburbia’
‘Jump They Say’ (radio edit)
‘Time Will Crawl’ (MM remix)
‘Absolute Beginners’ (single version)
‘Dancing In The Street’ (with Mick Jagger)
‘Loving The Alien’ (single remix)
‘This Is Not America’ (with the Pat Metheny Group)
‘Blue Jean’
‘Modern Love’ (single version)
‘China Girl’ (single version)
‘Let’s Dance’ (single version)
‘Fashion’ (edit)
‘Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)’ (single version)
‘Ashes To Ashes’ (single version)
‘Under Pressure’ (with Queen)
‘Boys Keep Swinging’
“Heroes” (single version)
‘Sound And Vision’
‘Golden Years’ (single version)
‘Wild Is The Wind’ (2010 Harry Maslin mix)

Nothing Has Changed: The Very Best of David Bowie was a compilation released in 2014. It was his first compilation to cover his entire career, containing the then-new Maria Schneider Orchestra version of ‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’.

The album was released by Parlophone in the UK, and Columbia and Legacy Recordings in the USA. Its title comes from the Heathen song ‘Sunday’, which was not included in the compilation.

Nothing Has Changed was issued in four formats, each with different artwork and tracklisting. The triple CD edition was sequenced in reverse chronological order, and contained five of Bowie’s pre-‘Space Oddity’ recordings, as well as songs from Bowie’s unreleased 2001 album Toy.

A double CD set was presented in the more conventional chronological order. This left off some of the lesser-known songs, beginning with ‘Space Oddity’ and omitting songs from Toy.

A single CD limited edition came out in Australia, Argentina, Japan, and Mexico. This was a non-chronological collection, beginning with ‘Ashes To Ashes’ and ending with ‘Sue’. The Australian, Argentinian and Mexican versions all had identical tracklistings, while the Japanese version included ‘Lady Stardust’ in place of ‘Golden Years’.

Finally, a double vinyl edition was again non-chronological, with a unique running order.

Nothing Has Changed topped the album chart in New Zealand, and went top ten in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. In the USA it reached 57 on the Billboard 200 chart.

On 11 November 2016, following Bowie’s death, a new compilation titled Legacy was released. This included selections from his final album Blackstar, as well as a previously-unreleased mix of ‘Life On Mars?’

Published: |