Moonage Daydream (2022) soundtrack coverRecorded: 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1983, 1993, 1994, 1995, 2006, 2015
Producer: Tony Visconti
Supervising sound engineers: John Warhurst, Nina Hartstone
Re-recording engineer: Bill Stein
Mixing engineer: Jannek Zechner

Released: 16 September 2022


  • David Bowie: vocals, guitar, keyboards, saxophone, synthesizer, organ, piano, koto, Moog, Mellotron, Stylophone, harmonica, percussion, handclaps
  • Mick Ronson: guitar, organ, Mellotron, vocals
  • Carlos Alomar, Earl Slick, Reeves Gabrels, Adrian Belew, Ricky Gardiner, Chuck Hammer, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Nile Rodgers, Mick Wayne, Tim Renwick, Jeff Beck: guitar
  • Erdal Kızılçay: guitar, keyboards, saxophone, synthesizer, percussion, trumpet
  • Mike Garson: piano, keyboards, synthesizer
  • Rick Wakeman: piano, harpsichord, organ, Mellotron
  • Brian Eno: keyboards, synthesizer, vocals
  • Roy Young, Roy Bittan, Sean Mayes: piano
  • Roger Powell: keyboards, synthesizer, vocals
  • Jason Lindner: piano, organ, keyboards
  • Andy Clark: synthesizer
  • Robert Sabino: piano, keyboards
  • David LeBolt: keyboards
  • Tony Visconti: guitar percussion, vocals
  • Simon House: electric violin
  • Trevor Boulder, George Murray, Herbie Flowers, Carmine Rojas, Gail Ann Dorsey, John Lodge: bass guitar
  • Tony Newman, John Cambridge, Omar Hakim, Tony Thompson, Zachary Alford: drums
  • Mick ‘Woody’ Woodmansey, Dennis Davis, Terry Cox: drums, percussion
  • Sam Figueroa: percussion
  • Neil Tennant: vocals
  • Chris Lowe: synthesizers, programming
  • J Peter Robinson, Paul Buckmaster: pianos, ARP synthesizer
  • Geoff MacCormack: vocals, congas
  • Mac Gollehon: trumpet
  • Robert Aaron, Stan Harrison: tenor saxophone
  • Steve Elson: baritone saxophone
  • David Spinner, George Simms, Frank Simms: vocals
  • Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra


Moonage Daydream is the soundtrack album to the 2022 film by Brett Morgen.

As with the film, the album takes a kaleidoscopic, non-linear approach to Bowie’s career, containing snippets and full versions of studio and live performances from throughout Bowie’s career.

Its rarities include outtakes of ‘Sound And Vision’, an early version of ‘Quicksand’, a previously-unreleased live version of ‘Rock ‘N’ Roll With Me’ from the Soul Tour, and a long-unreleased live version of ‘The Jean Genie’ and the Beatles’ ‘Love Me Do’ featuring Jeff Beck on guitar.

Two tracks – ‘The Light’ and ‘Sons Of The Silent Age’ – were from Philip Glass’s “Heroes” Symphony, recorded by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra at the Concert Hall in Poole, England, on 16 and 17 May 2006.

The release

The soundtrack was announced on 25 August 2022. The same day, the Moonage Daydream Mix of ‘Modern Love’ was posted on YouTube.

The second song from the album to be posted online was ‘DJ’ on 12 September.

The full soundtrack album was released digitally along with the Moonage Daydream film on 16 September 2022. A two-CD edition followed on 18 November.

Published: |