Radio: Iggy Pop, Mantra Studios, Chicago

Iggy Pop performed a late-night show at Chicago’s Mantra Studios on 28 March 1977.

This show was without a live audience, and was recorded for radio broadcast. It was subsequently issued on a number of bootleg and official releases.

Pop was in the middle of The Idiot Tour, for which David Bowie played keyboards. The other band members were Ricky Gardiner on guitar, Tony Sales on bass guitar, and Hunt Sales on drums.

The setlist

  • ‘Raw Power’
  • ‘TV Eye’
  • ‘Dirt’
  • ‘1969’
  • ‘Turn Blue’
  • ‘Funtime’
  • ‘Gimme Danger’
  • ‘No Fun’
  • ‘Sister Midnight’
  • ‘I Need Someone’
  • ‘Search And Destroy’
  • ‘I Wanna Be Your Dog’
  • ‘Tonight’
  • ‘Some Weird Sin’
  • ‘China Girl’
Last updated: 13 October 2023
Live: Iggy Pop, Riviera Theatre, Chicago
Live: Iggy Pop, Leona Theater, Pittsburgh
Also on this day...

Want more? Visit the David Bowie history section.

Leave a Reply