The Next Day Extra EP cover artworkRecorded: 2010-2013
Producers: David Bowie, Tony Visconti, James Murphy

Released: 4 November 2013


David Bowie: vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesize, organ, percussion
Gerry Leonard: guitar, keyboards
Earl Slick, David Torn, Morgan Visconti: guitar
Henry Hey: piano, keyboards, harpsichord
Tony Visconti: guitar, bass guitar
Gail Ann Dorsey: bass guitar, vocals
Tony Levin: bass guitar, Chapman stick
Zachary Alford, Sterling Campbell: drums
Alex Alexander: percussion
Antoine Silverman, Maxim Moston: violin
Hiroko Taguchi: viola
Anja Wood: cello
Erin Tonkon, Janice Pendarvis: vocals
James Murphy, Hishan Bharoocha, Jordan Hebert, Matthew Thornley: clapping chorus
Roy Bittan: piano


Containing various album outtakes and remixes from David Bowie’s The Next Day album, The Next Day Extra was a digital EP released in November 2013.

The Next Day was originally released in standard and deluxe editions. The latter was a single-disc set containing three bonus songs: ‘So She’, ‘Plan’, and ‘I’ll Take You There’.

Furthermore, a standard Japanese edition added the track ‘God Bless The Girl’, and a Japanese deluxe version contained all four bonus tracks.

These four songs, plus two remixes and four previously-unreleased songs, were collated and issued in November 2013 as the digital EP The Next Day Extra.

The unreleased songs – ‘Atomica’, ‘The Informer’, ‘Like A Rocket Man’, and ‘Born In A UFO’ – had remained unfinished at the time the main album sessions ended, and were completed in the summer of 2013.

Most of the lyrics were completed at the time of The Next Day sessions, but David added some extra lyrics and sang some new vocals, including backing vocals and harmonies. The new versions were then completely fleshed out and freshly mixed for the new release.

Tony Visconti
New Musical Express

In August 2013 the Venetian Mix of ‘I’d Rather Be High’ was also created, with additional parts added to the previously-recorded song. Bowie added around ten new vocal tracks, Tony Visconti recorded a new bass guitar part, and Henry Hey played a harpsichord part.

The other remix, ‘Love Is Lost’ (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for the DFA), was a ten-minute opus by LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy. It began with a re-recording of Steve Reich’s ‘Clapping Music’ (1972), and also included a sample of Roy Bittan’s piano from ‘Ashes To Ashes’.

In addition to the digital release, all ten tracks were collated on a “Bonus CD” as part of a three-disc box set also titled The Next Day Extra. The box also contained a DVD containing videos for the singles ‘Where Are We Now?’, ‘The Stars (Are Out Tonight)’, ‘The Next Day’, and ‘Valentine’s Day’.

Published: |